On the trail of defectors post-GE14 | Malaysiakini

On the trail of defectors post-GE14

Lee Long Hui, 15 Feb 2019 ()

Note: The tracker is only accurate as of Feb 22, 2020

The dust may have settled on the 14th general election (GE14), but the seating arrangement in Parliament is constantly changing due to BN’s disintegration.

BN won 79 seats during GE14. Now, they are left with 41 after a string of floor crossings, either to the ruling coalition’s bench or another section of the opposition bench.

In an effort to help readers keep track of changing allegiances and the current balance of power, Malaysiakini is recording all the defections on this page.


This chart shows when MPs switched allegiances, sorted by date of the initial switch. You can view the changes by region - Peninsula, Sabah and Sarawak.

(Click Tap on each circle for more details)

The biggest casualty in terms of defections so far is Umno, which has lost 17 MPs. Five of them are from Sabah.

Before the Umno election

Prior to Umno’s leadership election in June 2018, two MPs from Perak - Noor Azmi Ghazali (Bagan Serai) and Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang) - were the first to leave Umno and BN.

Both cited dissatisfaction with how the party elections were being run.

After the Umno election

Umno eventually elected Ahmad Zahid Hamidi as its president. The day after, Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (Masjid Tanah) quit Umno.

She was followed by Mustapa Mohamed (Jeli), Anifah Aman (Kimanis) and Rozman Isli (Labuan).

Mas Ermieyati and Mustapa eventually joined Bersatu while Rozman joined Parti Warisan Sabah. Both parties are part of the ruling Pakatan Harapan coalition.

Third wave of defections

December 2018 saw 11 MPs - five from Sabah - quitting Umno over dissatisfaction with the party’s leadership.

This move forced Zahid to hand over the reins of the party to his deputy Mohamad Hasan, in a face-saving move that did not require the former to vacate his position.

In Feb 2019, Bersatu accepted Hamzah Zainuddin (Larut), Shabudin Yahaya (Tasek Gelugor), Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz (Tanah Merah), Abdul Latiff Ahmad (Mersing) and Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Sabak Bernam) and Rosol Wahid (Hulu Terengganu) as party members.

In March 2019, Azizah Mohd Dun (Beaufort), Ronald Kiandee (Beluran), Abd Rahim Bakri (Kudat) and Zakaria Mohd Edris (Libaran) also joined Bersatu.

Yamani Hafez Musa (Sipatang) joined Bersatu in Sept 2019.

BN's demise in the east

In June 2018, the four Sarawak BN component parties - Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB), Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP), Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) and the Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) - withdrew from the coalition that they helped form in 1974, thus eliminating BN in Sarawak.

Now known as the Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS), the new regional coalition has 18 MPs after Sri Aman MP Masir Kujat quit the coallition on March 7, 2018, to join Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

PSB formerly known as the United People's Party (UPP), is a splinter Sarawak United People's Party (SUPP).

Meanwhile in Sabah, the state BN component parties - Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) and United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation (Upko) - had left the coalition.

PBS and PBRS have joined forces with Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku Rakyat Sabah (Star) to form a Sabah-based opposition coalition known as Gabungan Bersatu Sabah (GBS). Collectively, GBS has three MPs.

Upko forged a pact with Warisan at the state level. Upko has one MP.

While BN is no more in Sarawak, Umno still has one MPs in Sabah - Bung Moktar Radin (Kinabatangan).

Balance of power

Currently, Pakatan Harapan and its allies Warisan and Upko have a total of 139 seats in the Dewan Rakyat. They are nine seats shy of a two-thirds majority needed for constitutional amendments.

Collectively, BN and PAS currently have 59 seats. The second-largest opposition block is GPS with 18 MPs, followed by GBS with 3 MPs.

The two independent MPs Anifah Aman (Kimanis) and Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang) have not declared their support for any coalition.

Current standing

Immediately after GE14, Umno emerged as the single party with the most MPs in Parliament at 54. Currently, at 38, they rank third after PKR and DAP.

Changes in the number of MPs for each political parties

*STAR forms Gabungan Bersatu Sabah with PBRS and PBS.

Two other BN component parties - MCA and MIC - have two and one MP repsectively.

There were three MPs who won their seats during GE14 as independents - Larry Sng (Julau), P Prabakaran (Batu) and Jugah Ak Muyang (Lubok Antu) - but joined PKR immediately after GE14.

Upko, now alligned with Warisan has one MP - Wilfred Madius Tangau (Tuaran).

Of the 17 MPs who have quit Umno so far, 14 have joined Bersatu and one joined Warisan. All current independent MPs are formerly from Umno.